November 2, 2020


Monterey, CA - The stakes were high and the championship battles tight as the penultimate round of the 2020 IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge rolled into the inaugural Hyundai Monterey Sports Car Championship at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca. Known for its topography and challenging corners like the Andretti Hairpin and the famous “Corkscrew”, Laguna Seca always presents action-packed racing and this weekend’s IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge race did not disappoint.
Under sunny skies and cool temperatures, the field roared to life as Hyundai’s Erik Thomas gave IMSA drivers the command to start their engines. The all-Hyundai TCR front row featured Harry Gottsacker on pole in the #21 Veloster N TCR alongside teammate Mason Filippi in the #98. Ryan Norman started 3rd in the #33. Spencer Brockman started last in the #29 Vertical Bridge Veloster N TCR due to a strategy change to start with four fresh tires rather than the Michelin rubber he qualified on.

All 12 rows of the world’s best-known brands perfectly aligned for Hyundai’s Paul Imhoff to wave the green flag, signifying the start of the 2-hour challenge. Unbelievable drama unfolded from the Andretti Hairpin at turn two as the off-pace GS car created havoc for the TCR front row, specifically, Gottsacker, Norman and Filippi. As Norman braked to avoid the GS car, he made contact with BHA sister car, Harry Gottsacker in the #21 Hyundai Veloster N TCR. With zero visibility and no where to go, championship points leader Mason Filippi was collected in the melee.  The #33 Veloster N TCR suffered only cosmetic damage and Norman moved to the lead. Both he #21 and the #98 Velosters were forced to return to the garage to assess their damage. The strategy call paid off for Brockman, as he started from the back and was able to avoid the calamity, he shot through the field to third position.
The BHA crews worked frantically to repair the damaged Velosters in time to return to competition. With the championship quickly winding down, points paying positions are more critical than ever. It was quickly determined the 98 was damaged beyond repair for a return to competition. The 98 crew turned their efforts to assist the 21 crew. Still belted into the car, Gottsacker anxiously awaited while the crews changed the steering rack, right rear suspension, and damper in remarkable time. The #21 returned to the track and competition. Soon after Mark Wilkins took over and brought the #21 Veloster home in 7th position, scoring 24 championship points.
Norman and Brockman’s race continued with rapid pace. Brockman, who was racing at the famed Laguna Seca circuit for the first time, led 15 laps in the first half of the race. The #29 Vertical Bridge team made just one pitstop, and in 1 minute 14 seconds completed the driver and tire changes and fuel. Chase hit the track with 54 minutes remaining and finished third, another strong result, their fourth podium finish of the season.
The team pitted out of sequence from the lead on lap 12 and took four tires and fuel. The long stop early would establish a shorter stop later and allow Norman to race hard with fresh tires on all four corners. Norman set the second fastest TCR lap of the race and stormed back to the lead by lap 28. The #33 pitted for its final stop and driver change with 52 minutes remaining. Shaving the gap by nearly a second each lap, Chaves hunted down the leading Audi and made a courageous pass for the win in the Corkscrew, a twisty section that drops 5 ½ stories in just 450 feet. The win was the third this season for Chaves and Norman, and they move into the championship lead (257) with four points over the #98 team of Michael Lewis and Mason Filippi (253).
The season concludes Friday, November 13th at Sebring International Raceway. Bryan Herta Autosport’s victory at the Hyundai Monterey Sports Car Championship represents the sixth win of the season for Hyundai. Hyundai leads the manufacturers championship by 17 points with one race to go.
#29 Vertical Bridge Hyundai Veloster N TCR
Drivers: Spencer Brockman and Parker Chase
Qualified: 8th (Brockman)  Finished: 3rd 
Championship: 6th (222 pts)
·       Brockman qualified 5th, team changed tires prior to race and started from the back (strategy).
·       Brockman led 15 laps.

Spencer Brockman: "It was very hairy on the start coming out of turn two. I did my best to avoid it and I am pretty surprised I did. I came out of that in third and then was able to get to the front and lead for a while which was pretty cool for my first time racing here at Laguna Seca.  Our car fell off over the long runs. We changed our strategy with tires after qualifying and opted to start in the pack. It turned out to be the right strategy for a few reasons and we were able to stay clear of that mess on the first lap.”

Parker Chase: “It’s great for Hyundai with the #33 winning and I’m happy to be on the podium at their home race. I was hoping to be able to challenge for the win, but we just didn’t have it over the long runs today to compete at the end.”

Bryan Herta Autosport with Curb Agajanian:
Founded in 2009, Bryan Herta Autosport has grown from a single car Indy-Lights team into a championship winning auto racing franchise. Led by IndyCar and Sports Car star Bryan Herta, Bryan Herta Autosport has won races in every discipline they have entered, including Indy Lights, Indy Car, Global Rally Cross, and championship titles in Pirelli World Challenge and IMSA. BHA rose to prominence after winning the 2011 Indianapolis 500 in what was the final race of the Centennial Era, a celebration of 100 years of racing at The Indianapolis Motor Speedway, with driver Dan Wheldon. Five years later, BHA partnered with Andretti Autosport, and defied the odds again, winning their second Indianapolis 500 with rookie driver Alexander Rossi. In 2018, BHA entered the Pirelli World Challenge in partnership with Hyundai and dominated the TCR class, winning seven races with drivers #98 Michael Lewis and #99 Mark Wilkins in the Hyundai i30N TCR, securing the team and manufacturers championships in the process. In 2019, BHA and Hyundai moved to the IMSA Michelin Sports Car Challenge, and the transition was flawless. BHA swept the series driver and team championships with driver Mark Wilkins and Michael Lewis finishing first in the #98 Hyundai Veloster N TCR and young guns Harry Gottsacker and Mason Filippi finishing second in the #21 Hyundai Veloster N TCR. For 2020, BHA continues its successful partnership with Andretti Autosport fielding the #98 U.S. Concrete Honda w/ Curb Agajanian in the IndyCar series for driver Marco Andretti and a four-car Hyundai Veloster N TCR campaign in the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge with Michael Lewis and Mason Fillipi (#98), Mark Wilkins and Harry Gottsacker (#21), Gabby Chaves and Ryan Norman (#33) and Parker Chase and Spencer Brockman (#29). Bryan Herta Autosport is the U.S. sales agent and parts support representative of Hyundai TCR race cars for customer teams. For more information, visit

At Hyundai Motor America, we believe everyone deserves better. From the way we design and build our cars to the way we treat the people who drive them, making things better is at the heart of everything we do. Hyundai’s technology-rich product lineup of cars, SUVs and alternative-powered electric and fuel cell vehicles is backed by Hyundai Assurance—our promise to create a better experience for customers. Hyundai vehicles are sold and serviced through more than 820 dealerships nationwide and nearly half of those sold in the U.S. are built at Hyundai Motor Manufacturing Alabama. Hyundai Motor America is headquartered in Fountain Valley, California, and is a subsidiary of Hyundai Motor Company of Korea.Please visit our media website at